![]() |
|
Commands of Layer Window:
Layers List: lists the existing image Layers. Those checked are the ones currently visible. To hide a layer, just uncheck the corresponding item in the list.
The background is a special layer and thus is always visible.
The first layer from the top is the background. All other layers lay on top of that.
Z-Order Arrows:
Use the arrows to bring a layer on top of another or back down.
Merge Button:
This command merges the selected layer with the background. After this, the layer is not deleted but just made invisible.
Delete Button:
Command to delete a layer.
Warning this operation cannot be undone, so be careful before deleting any layer.
Layer Display:
Shows the 4 channels of which the layer is made. The 3 color channels make the picture on the left, the alpha channel is the see-through region of the layer.
Blend Mode:
the Blend Mode is the way the layer is combined with the background and the underlaying layers. There are many blend modes, by default it is set to Normal.
You can also control:
Percent of blending (opacity)
Layer Position (X, Y)
Layer Width and Height
The Alpha Channel
An image layer is made of 4 channels: 3 RGB channels represent the color information, and the alpha channel is an extra information which represents the opacity of the layer: the more is the alpha value of a single pixel the more that pixel will be visible. Pixels with an alpha value of 0 will not be visible, pixels with 127 will be just half-visible and pixels with 255, maximum value, will be completely visible.
You can edit the alpha channel separately using the alpha channel editor.
To cut away parts of the alpha channels you can use the Edit > Cut Command together with a selection.
You can also modify the transparence of alpha channel using the "Erase/Restore layer tool".
Also if in the Layer Window the Edit Alpha Channel
option is checked you will be able to edit the alpha channel with most of the editing tools. If the option is not checked the alpha channel will not be affected during editing.
These are also many operations you can do with Image Layers like:
Rename a Layer
Duplicate a Layer: which creates an exact copy of the current layer
Merge with Background: which merges the current layer with the background into just one picture.
Position: this lets you align the layer position to the center, the left, the top, the right and the bottom
Copy to Object: this creates an object from current layer: it's useful if you want to paste the layer into another project, then first you create an intermediate object.
Group Layers: when you click this menu item the Group Layers window will show:
From this window you can:
Move to the list on the right all layers that you want to group
Choose the operation you want to apply to the group
Press the Apply button to apply the selected operation.
- "Flatten Group" operation has the effect of joining all the layers of the group into one big layer. The old layers will not be deleted but just set to invisible in case you want to restore them later.
- You can also apply group alignment operations to set the position of all layers in the group